bat plc annual report 2007 - Board of directors

Text size: AAAA
Annual Report and Accounts 2007
Jan du Plessis
Jan du Plessis  (British/South African)
Appointed Chairman in July 2004, having been a Non-Executive Director since his appointment to the Board in 1999. He was previously Group Finance Director of Richemont. He is Chairman of the Nominations Committee. He is a Non-Executive Director of Lloyds TSB Group plc. (54)
Rt. Hon Kenneth Clarke
The Rt. Hon. Kenneth Clarke QC MP  (British)
Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Non-Executive Director [1] [2] [3] [4]
Appointed a Director in 1998 and will retire at the conclusion of this year’s AGM on 30 April 2008. He is Chairman of the Remuneration and Corporate Social Responsibility Committees. He is Non-Executive Director of Independent News & Media (UK) Limited and Independent News and Media p.l.c. (Republic of Ireland). (67)
Paul Adams
Paul Adams  (British)
Chief Executive
Appointed a Director in March 2001 and Chief Executive in January 2004. He joined British American Tobacco in July 1991 and held senior appointments as Regional Director, Asia-Pacific and Regional Director, Europe prior to becoming Deputy Managing Director in June 2001 and Managing Director in January 2002. (54)
Paul Rayner
Paul Rayner  (Australian)
Finance Director
Joined Rothmans Holdings Limited in Australia in 1991. He held senior executive positions with Rothmans before becoming Chief Operating Officer of British American Tobacco Australasia Limited in September 1999. He became Finance Director in January 2002. He has been a Non-Executive Director of Centrica plc since September 2004. Paul Rayner will retire as Finance Director at the conclusion of the AGM on 30 April 2008. (53)
Nicandro Durants
Nicandro Durante  (Brazilian/Italian)
Chief Operating Officer and Director, America-Pacific
Appointed a Director and Chief Operating Officer on 1 January 2008 having previously been Regional Director for Africa and Middle East and a member of the Management Board since March 2006. He previously held senior general management roles in Brazil (including President of Souza Cruz) and also in the UK and Hong Kong. (51)
Robert Lerwill
Robert Lerwill  (British)
Non-Executive Director [1] [2] [3] [4]
Appointed a Director in 2005, he is Chairman of the Audit Committee. He has been Chief Executive of Aegis Group plc since 2005 and was formerly a Director of Cable & Wireless plc and WPP Group PLC. He is a Non-Executive Director of Synergy Healthcare plc. (56)
Karen de Segundo
Karen de Segundo  (Dutch)
Non-Executive Director [1] [2] [3] [4]
Appointed a Director on 1 October 2007, she has been appointed Chair of the Corporate Social Responsibility Committee with effect from 1 May 2008. Karen retired as CEO Renewables and President Hydrogen of Shell International in 2005. She is currently a Non-Executive Director of Lonmin plc, Merrill Lynch New Energy Technology plc, Ensus Ltd, Pöyry Oyj and Ahold NV. (61)
Dr Ana Maria Llopis
Dr Ana Maria Llopis  (Spanish)
Non-Executive Director [1] [2] [3] [4]
Appointed a Director in 2003. She is Executive Deputy Chairman of the J F Llopis Foundation and a member of the Good Governance Working Group for Spanish listed companies. Ana Maria was appointed a Non-Executive Director of ABN AMRO Bank in April 2007. (57)
Christine Morin-Postel
Christine Morin-Postel  (French)
Non-Executive Director [1] [2] [3] [4]
Appointed a Director on 1 October 2007. Christine is currently a Non-Executive Director of Royal Dutch Shell PLC and 3i Group plc. She previously held a number of executive positions including Chief Executive of Société Générale de Belgique, Executive Vice-President and member of the Executive Committee of Suez and Chairman and CEO of Crédisuez plc before her retirement in 2003. (61)
Anthony Ruys
Anthony Ruys  (Dutch)
Non-Executive Director [1] [2] [3] [4]
A Director from March 2006, he has been appointed Chairman of the Remuneration Committee with effect from 1 May 2008. He was previously Chairman of Heineken N.V. He is a member of the Supervisory Boards of ABN AMRO Bank and Schiphol Airport N.V. and a director of Lottomatica S.p.A. (Italy). (60)
Sir Nicolas Scheele
Sir Nicholas Scheele  (British/US)
Non-Executive Director [1] [2] [3] [4]
Appointed a Director in 2005, he has been appointed Senior Independent Director with effect from 1 May 2008. He is Chancellor of the University of Warwick. He is Chairman of The Cambridge-MIT Institute and Key Safety Systems, Inc. (USA) and a Director of Caparo plc. (64)
Thys Visser
Thys Visser  (South African)
Non-Executive Director [1] [4]
A Director since 2001. He is CEO of Remgro Limited, having held senior management positions with Rembrandt Group since 1980. He is Chairman of Rainbow Chicken Ltd and is a Non-Executive Director of Medi-Clinic Corporation Limited, Nampak Limited and Distell Group Limited. (53)

Board Committees
Committee membership is indicated by the following numbers:
[1] Nominations Committee
[2] Audit Committee
[3] Renumeration Committee
[4] Corporate Social Responsibility Committee

© British American Tobacco